Kampung Fried Rice (Nasi goreng kampung)

Hi guys

Sorry it has been a long time since I posted any new recipes, but I just started working part time, and it has been really busy. I have had to pump every morning and night, combined with looking after my son in the day time, I have hardly had time to exercise.

Nonetheless, I have been cooking and I have two other recipes I am keen to share. I have the pictures up, but the actual recipe is not with me at the moment so I cant write it down.

Today will be a simple recipe I have not cooked for a long time. I used to cook this almost everyday when I was pregnant with my first child. It is simple, and the ingredients are easy to get if you lived in Malaysia.

Ingredients

2 cups cooked rice

1 tablespoon oil for frying

1 cup of dried anchovies (ikan bilis)

1 large onion

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 bird’s eye chilli (more if you prefer it spicy)

2 eggs

How to

Cook 2 cup of rice (Best to use rice cooked the night before)

Take half a cup of dried anchovies and fry till almost cooked, as below. Add a pinch of salt while cooking it.

wp-1489482132235.jpg

Pound the other half cup of ikan bilis/anchovies, onion, salt and bird’s eye chilli until nice and pounded 😛

wp-1489482136635.jpg

Heat oil in a pan and fry the pounded paste until fragrant

Part the fried paste in the middle

Break the eggs in the middle as per picture

wp-1489482126016.jpg

wp-1489482120488.jpg

Once egg is almost cooked, add rice and mix everything together

Cook until everything is nice and hot

 

Done 🙂

 

Don’t forget to leave a comment if you do try the recipe

Leave a Reply

